Kogi: INEC to conduct re-run polls in 14 LGAs in Kogi Feb 20

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) is to conduct re-run elections in 1,988 polling units in 14 local government areas of Kogi State on February 20.

The state Resident Electoral Commission (REC), Mallam Haliru Pai, disclosed this yesterday at a stakeholders’ meeting.

According to him, the re-run elections would hold on February 20 in two senatorial districts of the state, namely Kogi Central and Kogi East.

He further disclosed that the All Progressives Congress (APC) would not participate in the Kogi Central and East senatorial elections following the court ruling which bar the two candidates and the APC from contesting.

Mallam Pai also added that the APC would not participate in the election in Ogoro/Okene Federal Constituency as a result of court ruling, adding that only the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is eligible for the re-run election.

On the Kogi State House of Assembly re-run election, the REC said APC and their candidates would not participate in Ofu and Ankpa 1 re-run election but said the party would participate in Idah, Dekina Biraidu and Okura re-run elections.

He stressed that in Idah, the re-run election would only take place in one unit – Ogegele ward, Unit 00
He mentioned that about 9,816 ad hoc staff including youth corps members and security personnel would participate in the re-run elections.

He therefore assured the people of the state of free and fair re-run election stressing that the reason why re-run election will take place in the 14 local government areas of the state was as a result of not conducting primary by one of the party in the state which led to litigation.

No comments:

Post a Comment